#### 2013 BOARD COMMITTEES AND COMMITTEE OBJECTIVES

# **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

(Officers of the Board & Past President or Board Member)

President\* - Peter Hoffmann
Vice President - Caroline Profera
Secretary - Lisa Baker Brill
Treasurer - Regina Morini
Past President - Jim Tuttle

# **AUDIT COMMITTEE**

Roland Patterson, Chair Bill Conine

Regina Morini

# BYLAWS, POLICY AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

Janet Schnitzer, Chair John Bickford Myrna Sameth

Camilla von Bergen

# **FACILITIES COMMITTEE**

Stephen Mac Nish, Chair

John Bickford Matthew Perry Lynne Ridgeway

# FINANCE COMMITTEE \*\*

Regina Morini, Chair

Caroline Benton-Profera

Lynne Ridgeway Roland Patterson

Jim Tuttle

# Martin Miller

Steve Mac Nish

Lynne Ridgeway Janet Schnitzer

**COMMITTEE** 

Bill Conine, Chair Lisa Baker Brill Martin Miller

# PERSONNEL & PLANNING

**INCENTIVES COMMITTEE**\*\*

**NOMINATIONS & ELECTIONS** 

Caroline Benton-Profera, Chair

<u>COMMITTEE</u>\*\*

John Bickford, Chair

Regina Morini

Myrna Sameth

Jim Tuttle

Camilla von Bergen

# **TRUSTEE SERVICES**\*\*

Roland Patterson, Chair

Lisa Baker Brill

Roland Patterson

Matthew Perry

Myrna Sameth

Camilla von Bergen

<sup>\*</sup> The President "... shall serve ex-officio as a member of all committees except the Nominating Committee" (MHLS Bylaws)

<sup>\*\*</sup> Preferably at least one from each county

#### 2013 BOARD COMMITTEES AND COMMITTEE OBJECTIVES

#### **AUDIT COMMITTEE**

Reviews matters related to financial statements, the systems of internal controls and compliance, and the annual independent audit process, including the recommended engagement of and receiving of all reports from the auditors.

# **FINANCE COMMITTEE**

Reviews the system budget for the forthcoming year, makes modifications to the current year, and monitors financial performance. Preferably one trustee from each county.

# BYLAWS, POLICY AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

Reviews the MHLS Bylaws and presents a report and recommendations at the Board of Trustees May meeting, following which the board may present its recommendations for amendments at the annual meeting.

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

The elected officers and immediate past president, if still seated on the Board.

#### **FACILITIES COMMITTEE**

Provides oversight for the maintenance and management of MHLS facilities and grounds, including facility infrastructure, such as communication and I.T. systems. Meets at least twice a year, including an annual physical inspection and review of the MHLS facilities.

#### **INCENTIVES COMMITTEE**

Responsible for the continuing review of the MHLS grants program. Presents its recommendations for the following year's grants program to the board prior to the review of the next year's budget.

# **NOMINATING AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE**

Preferably three members with varying lengths of service. Presents, at the November meeting, a slate of officers for the following year's board of trustees. The slate is voted on at the December meeting.

The Chair of this committee will also prepare and conduct the election of trustees at the annual meeting.

# PLANNING AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Works to prepare and review the System's formal long-range Plan of Service. Also sets goals for the System and monitors the progress being made by the System in connection with such plans and goals and, where necessary, seeing what adjustment in either plan or performance may be appropriate.

Reviews and makes recommendations regarding the executive director's job description and evaluation procedure, salaries, benefits, and other matters pertaining to staff and employment conditions. Reviews and negotiates the contract with the MHLS unit of the CSEA.

#### TRUSTEE SERVICES COMMITTEE

The Trustee Services Committee reviews staff initiatives that support trustees of member library boards and the MHLS board. Those initiatives include the trustee newsletter, Across the Board; the MHLS Annual Meeting; and trustee workshops. With staff support, the committee encourages, models and tracks board-to-board visits by all MHLS trustees. The committee is comprised of a representative from each county.